Denim beginnings

From April 30, 2009 my aim is to wear denim every day for a year.

By denim I mean everything from the definition of denim fabric…. (You can read all about it on Wikipedia if you’re really keen: Denim) to fabric that emulates the look of denim… like this beautiful faux denim patchwork suit found on Digital Vintage.
Yours for a snap at only US$60!!

faux patchwork denim

faux patchwork denim

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every day I’ll post a picture of my outfit and give a description proving it’s denim-ness.
And by wearing denim I mean a denim bottom, a denim top and at least 1 denim accessory.
It’s gunna be tricky.
I better get on that internet web thing to look for clothes.
Like this incredible stroke of genius…
the bikini jean!!

 

Update: Monday 20, April

Music to wear denim too…
With my Year of Denim about to begin I have decided to do karaoke on my birthday.
And that naturally led me to thinking what song(s) can I sing that are about denim, mention denim or have denim in the title.
Of course I can’t go past the little Aussie ripper by local legend Marty Rhone…

Marty Rhone's Denim & Lace

Marty Rhone's Denim & Lace

If anyone out there has suggestions?
Let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Latest update: Friday 24th April 2009

It’s hard to believe,as gorgeous as I am, that I was just a little too beautiful to squeeze into this sumptuous jumpsuit at the local St vincent de Pauls.
Maybe I should go on an all denim diet too!jumpsuit

14 Responses to Denim beginnings

  1. petenel says:

    Complete gibberish from Neil Diamond:

    Money talks
    But it dont sing and dance
    And it dont talk
    As long as I can have you here with me
    Id much rather be
    Forever in blue jeans

  2. petenel says:

    Dear House of Jane

    Will you also be embracing the ‘never-nude’ lifestyle which i read about on Oh Errol. Apparently sufferers of the syndrome are indeed never nude and wear denim cut-off shorts at all times, even in the shower.

    Thanks and regards

  3. holdan says:

    Baby, please, you must be outta your mind
    Do I look like I want your dirty denim?
    Listen up, I’m only sayin’ this one more time
    One more time…
    Can you hear me say that I don’t want your dirty denim?

  4. holdan says:

    Blue-gray eyes they change with the color
    Change with the sun they run with the sight
    They change with the wind but they’re always bright
    Bright eyes Blue Denim
    Bright eyes Blue Denim

  5. spiegel says:

    There was a pop ditty years ago that went:
    I pull my blue jeans on, I pull my old blue jeans on
    I pull my blue jeans on, I pull my old blue jeans etc

    I just googled it and found only the Keith Urban version. But while i was there I also found this by Miley Cyrus (Hannah Montana):

    I’m gonna put on my old blue jeans
    I’m gonna walk outta here into the street
    Would you put up resistance
    Would it make a difference
    Would you know the real me
    Me and my old blue jeans

    • jampolk says:

      I beleive that song was originally an ad ditty.
      But it’s still cool.
      I also like “Baby makes her blue jeans talk” by Dr Hook

  6. petenel says:

    Spiegel is talking about “Jeans On” by David Dundas.

  7. Lonelysheep says:

    Dirty Denim by The Donnas
    (god forbid you should look 30!)

    You look like you’ve only slept for an hour
    You smell like you haven’t taken a shower
    And your hair is so dirty
    It makes you look like you’re 30!
    Your pants are slung way too low
    I see stuff I don’t wanna know
    I wonder why you’re so moody
    Is it ’cause you’ve got no booty?!
    (Chorus)
    Baby, please, you must be outta your mind
    Do I look like I want your dirty denim?
    Listen up, I’m only sayin’ this one more time
    (echo) One more time…
    Can you hear me say that I don’t want your dirty denim?
    DIRTY DENIM!
    DIRTY DENIM!
    DIRTY DENIM!
    I hate to say it, but they’re all the same
    Thinkin’ everybody knows their name
    But how can they break my heart
    If I can’t even tell them apart?!
    I can tell you think I’m impressed
    But do you think you’re gonna get me undressed
    ‘Cause if you do I got bad news…
    I wasn’t winkin’ that was just the booze!
    (Chorus)
    Baby, please, you must be outta your mind
    (echo) Outta your mind…
    Do I look like I want your dirty denim?
    (echo) Dirty Denim!
    Listen up, I’m only sayin’ this one more time
    (echo) One more time…
    Can you hear me say that I don’t want your dirty denim?
    (echo) Dirty Denim!
    I don’t want your, I don’t need your
    I don’t want your, I don’t need your
    You pay 200 dollars to look like that…
    You outta check out the laundromat!
    (Donna C. woo-whoo!)
    (Chorus)
    Baby, please, you must be outta your mind
    (echo) Outta your mind
    Do I look like I want your dirty denim?
    (echo) Dirty Denim!
    Listen up, I’m only sayin’ this one more time
    (echo) One more time…
    Can you hear me say that I don’t want your dirty denim?
    (echo) Dirty Demin
    DIRTY DENIM!
    DIRTY DENIM!
    DIRTY DENIM!

    • jampolk says:

      Yours is the second Donnas Dirty Denim suggestiopn.
      I’m not sure that the Ding Dong Dang will have The Donnas on its songlist however….

  8. Elizabeth Wild says:

    Dear Blue Jeans,
    Happy Birthday and what a way to spend the year. I’ll check my costume closet for you. I used to have a Calvin Klein Jeans Dress given to me by my first true love and a cap from the 80’s that I wore to a Billy Idol concert. Yikes! Thrift shoppers can’t
    be too sensitive to history of their purchases… embrace the denim poltergeists.

    • jampolk says:

      Hi Wild!
      I can’t remember the last time I bought brand new never before worn denim.
      So I will be very grateful for any debim scaps you can send my way.

      JPolk

  9. Goffers says:

    My dad used to have a Levis fetish. He had a Levis cap, that had pockets, and we all wore Levis sneakers, also with pockets! How cool were the 70’s?
    I have a stretch denim apron you can have.
    Love it!!!

    • jampolk says:

      Levi’s sneakers…. I remember those.
      Weren’t they just the best?
      I have my dad’s Levis belt.
      It’s so precious I hardly ever wear it.
      I am saving it for a rainy day…

Leave a Reply

