Day 8: Thursday 7 May, 2009

It’s the start of  week 2 in the Year of Denim. And feeling the pressure to be new fresh and exciting, yesterday, after enjoying the bath like temperature of Bondi’s surf, I hit the eastern suburbs op shops. It had been at least 18 months since Bondi St Vincent de Paul’s had the pleasure of my company. And it was quite good. I did buy a little something, perhaps too little. You can be the judge of that when I wear the item in the coming days, weeks, months.

After Bondi St Vinnies I wandered up the road to what is possibly the best St Vincent de Paul’s in Sydney… Charing Cross. How good is it? HOW GOOD?!?
 Well let me tell you, it’s very good. I had to put clothes back on the racks simply because I didn’t have the money to buy them all. Remember this is a charity shop, so nothing as over $10. Plus I didn’t want to O.D on denim too early. I have weeks and months of buying, borrowing, stealing denim ahead of me. Why rush into purchases in week 2? I have 50 weeks of denim buying to go.

I am turning into a denim junkie. It’s invading my dreams.
Last night I dreamt I was camping in a denim tent.Enough about my internal life and onto the day’s outfit…

Denim, The Green Lady and a little ray of sunshine

Denim with a dash of polyester, The Green Lady and a little ray of sunshine

 

 

Top: a very fashionable denim shirt by Moji

Bottom: denim slacks (!) by Levi’s. Older than the hills, but being polyester they still look brand new

Accessories: very cute denim shoulder bag bought from the local Salvos, and something every house needs a print of  Vladimir Tretchikoff’s Chinese Girl, also known as The Green Lady. 

See, they really are Levi's + sweet bag

See, they really are Levi's + sweet bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 Responses to Day 8: Thursday 7 May, 2009

  1. anne says:

    Nice one. Steppin’ out in style.

    And big thanks to Ryszard and Jodie for that lovely picture. My grandma had the very same one.

  2. holdan says:

    I want those pants. Give them to me.

  3. spiegel says:

    my source is telling me that when you see those polyester pants live and in the flesh, “they are really cool – i’d wear them myself.” hmmm

  4. spiegel says:

    OK, they’re cool

  5. holdan says:

    but we can just swap pants – I am wearing denim today too

    • jampolk says:

      But then I’d have to re-do the blog, take a picture, up-load it, explain to the 10 readers out there what’s going on.
      I’m exhausted already.

  6. holdan says:

    wuss

  7. holdan says:

    tomorrow I challenge you to pose looking in the other direction.

  8. raquel says:

    It’s hard to see what that top is.. Does it have two shades of denim? When you wear it again can you take several poses so I can see it better.

    Which makes me think you need a front and back shot on all your images. The shot the YGen (double denim fashion police enforcers) are gasping at when they walk towards you and the look they get as they rubber neck as you’ve gone by.
    xx

    • jampolk says:

      That top looks like someone has dipped their hands in bleach then smeared them down the front of the shirt.
      It’ll turn up again soon so I’ll make sure the next vision is full frontal.
      I keep forgetting how quite possibly tragic I must look as I strut up and down King St in my double or triple denim dos.
      All those groovy young GenYers must be having fashion conniptions.
      But I have yet to receieve any comment here from double denim haters….
      I await their vitriol

Leave a Reply

