Day 9: Friday 8 May, 2009

Today I would have liked to have worn a very special item: The Gift That Had No Give
As you can see in the picture below unfortunately I am just a tad too buxom to squeeze into this absolutely sensational 
denim shirt loaned to me by DanH. 
Check out the button details… lovely.

If I could just go down a bra size or 2, lose a shirt size (or 2) this beautiful vintage shirt might just fit

If I could just go down a bra size or 2, lose a shirt size (or 2) this beautiful vintage shirt might just fit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Awwwww, sweet brass press stud detail

Awwwww, sweet brass press stud detail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I had to come up with a different outfit, and while the shirt I DID chose has the opposite problem to DanH’s lovely loaner ( it’s about 2 sizes too big), it has so much else going for it that I think it was a fashion compromise that was begging to be made.

Green Lady bamboo curtain action, notice I am looking the OTHER way in this picture!

Green Lady bamboo curtain action fake denim shirt with bananas and jeans with flair & flare. Notice I am looking the OTHER way in this picture! For the first time!

 

 

 

 

Top: psychedelic fake denim cowboy shirt with bananas, peeled and chomped!

Bottom: Amazing jeans with bonus flare. Yes they are Amazing, that’s the label!

Accessory: Brand new black denim cap gifted to me by J & L (responsible for the pierced denim bag)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you look closely in the photo above you might have noticed that there are not 1 but 2, yes count them, 2! images by Vladimir Tretchikoff. One is the afore mentioned bamboo curtain version of Chinese Girl. The other is also (I think) a print by Tretchikoff called “La belle de Pacific”. And if you look REALLY closely you’ll see a paint by numbers kit waiting for a rainy day… They are leopards. They are stylish in any home.

Anyway, here’s a detail of today’s outfit. Hurrah for denim and fake denim!

Black denim cap +eyeball, AMAZING jeans here's the proof and a close-up of my fancy fake denim cowboy shirt + bananas, Glen Campbell meets Velvet Underground banana mash

Black denim cap +eyeball, AMAZING jeans here's the proof and a close-up of my fancy fake denim cowboy shirt + bananas, Glen Campbell meets Velvet Underground banana mash

4 Responses to Day 9: Friday 8 May, 2009

  1. holdan says:

    you have reignited my love for that shirt. I will wear it, asap. Nice other way pose.

    • jampolk says:

      I just have to give it back to you first….
      It’s lovely. And it is in the realm of possibility that I’ll lose weight. It COULD happen.
      Not likely, but possible…

  2. littleowlski says:

    I like your bamboo curtain! I’ve currently got my eye on a Chinese Girl print on Ebay to go with the rest of my collection.

    • Year of Denim says:

      You have a collection of chinese girl stuff?
      Sounds sweet.
      My curtain was a gift.
      As was the chinese girl print I have

Leave a Reply

