Day 29: Thursday 28 May

My how time flys when you’re having fun. It’s the beginning of the 5th week, yes count them, FIVE!!!, of My Year of Denim. And the denim is just gushing forth from every corner of, if not the globe and if not Australia, then some areas of Sydney. I don’t know if this flood of denim is caused by climate change, but I wouldn’t be surprised.

However what really trully shocks me is those people (you know who you are) who don’t own any denim! I don’t know what to make of non-denim wearers. I can understand that in certain parts of the world denim is not an ideal fabric, say in the Arctic circle or the tropics of the Mentawis. But here in Sydney, with our moderate year round climate, denim seems to me to be a perfect fabric for most days of the year, as I am setting out to prove on this blog. Apparently Frank Sinatra didn’t own any denim. Not sure what that means or says about him or about jeans, but let us ponder that info for moment or two…

Denim & handicrafts go hand in hand

Denim & handicrafts go hand in hand whilst I ponder Frank Sinatra's non-denim wearing lifestyle

Top: Marcs shiny & thankfully stretchy quite tight smart denim jacket

Bottom: Levi’s straight leg polyester jeans/slacks

Accessory: Jeans bum handbag, my favorite kind, like your carrying around somebody’s arse and putting stuff in it!

And if you are wondering about the dog walking, today I wore my office clothes to walk the dog. There have been some enquiries about the dog and why she hasn’t yet appeared anywhere. The truth is she is, I suspect, rather disinterested in My Year of Denim. If I pay her the usual modelling rates she gets on the dog walks of the world she might deign to appear. Of course she’ll have to be acessorised in denim….

Bum bag has a different meaning to me

Bum bag has a different meaning to me

Today’s accessory is what I like to call the denim bum bag, in that it looks like somebody’s bum in a pair of jeans. I have a couple of these hand/bum bags and this is my newest, a gift courtesy of DanH, who I thank very much.

A little later on…
Having caught the train to work this morning I was struck by the incredible design feature of my denim bum bag…. the little pockets are perfect for train tickets!

Denim bumbag's hi-tech desihn feature

Denim bumbag's hi-tech design feature... a pocket sized just so

14 Responses to Day 29: Thursday 28 May

  1. holdan says:

    good work polkers. stuff that jean bum full of goodies. are you hungover, red wine lady?

  2. HRH says:

    I don’t own any denim and am happy to keep it that way. If it can’t dry over night… not interested. And your note about its lack of crotch durability (whether that is due to wear and tear or killer c#nt juice isn’t clear) isn’t inspiring me to invest either…

  3. spiegel says:

    re Ol’ Blue Eyes and his non-denim, I am also certain that Rod Stewart once said he never wore denim. But now I think about it, it’s a bit hard to believe that a one-time rockin’ dude like him would never have pulled on a pair of jeans, so perhaps it was just while he was with Britt Ekland and more in his “satin” phase.
    I do know that Leonard Cohen has never worn jeans. He was born in 1934 and was already 33 when his first album came out in 1967, so he reckons he kind of missed the boat with the whole jeans thang. He was the son of a tailor and said that by the late 60s, he was so used to wearing a nicely cut suit that he just stayed with it. Hence his always dapper appearance – even without denim.

    • jampolk says:

      Perhaps Mr Cohen could have gotten a nicely cut denim suit made?
      This is the holy grail for My Year of Denim… a nicely cut denim suit… aaahhhh

  4. tim says:

    CLASSIC STUFF ROFLMAO!!!!! particularly luv the train ticket peeking out of the pocket!!!

    • jampolk says:

      Ta 4 yr kind comments.
      Keep ’em coming.
      But not sure what ROFLMAO means????
      Actually… I just looked it up and now i know, and I thank you once again… I think

  5. holdan says:

    I can’t be friends with non-jean wearers.

  6. tim says:

    rollin
    on
    floor
    laffin
    me
    asss
    orf
    !!!

  7. tim says:

    (on the inside)

Leave a Reply

