Day 48: Tuesday 16 June

A very tardy start to the blog today. I apologise.

News flash!!! Sydney’s Inner West Courier has printed  a story & picture about The Year of Denim. Unfortunately if you want to see it online you’ll have to go to page 25 of their “real view” version of the paper… InnerWest Courier. I’ll have to go on a hunt for a paper copy as it’s delivery here in Marrickville is intermittent.

I have spent all morning trying to keep my turn -ups UP! When the turn-ups are 30cm of carefully age softened Levis denim it becomes a real struggle. Perhaps I should have gone for the multi-fold turn-up rather than single mega turn-up. There’s something to  muse on… turn-ups, single roll, double or triple? Sounds like a poll to me!

Today's turn-ups inspired by yesterday's record covers

Today's turn-ups inspired by yesterday's record covers

Top: A cold day deserves a warm coat, Lois denim jacket with that fur lining

Bottom: Levis high waisted flares, so nicely soft and worn, but without the stiffness of new denim, turn-ups tend to collapse

Accessory: All those worn muted denim tones require an accessory with punch, the dark denim cap with bonus utopia badge. Not sure why I’m wearing a utopia badge, because Sydney is patently NOT utopia. Many say utopia is an impossibility. I’m not really sure what my version of utopia is, but I suspect that utopia would be boring. None of the rub up against difference that can make life both awful and incredible. Would there be stonewash dungarees in utopia? I’m sure many people would hope not.

Enough ranting. Today’s Levis are very long legged but because they are so ancient and such lovely old denim I can’t bear the thought of butchering them, so I have turned to yesteryear’s fashion response to long legged jeans… the turn-up. The turn-up ala the 1970’s is best matched with a stripey sock, which I did wear, but failed to turn up the turn-ups enough to make them visible. Shoulda gone the double fold… Here’s how my jeans should look…

The 1970's...  Bumper fashion years

The 1970's... Bumper fashion years

If you look closely at the Bumper record cover you’ll notice the picture has been cropped so the guy’s denim ‘package’ is just visible. I only noticed this for the first time today, and I was shocked. Do I want a knob to interfere with denim lines? Men in tight jeans… a blog for another day…

Vote here if you have a turn-up opinion:


7 Responses to Day 48: Tuesday 16 June

  1. anne says:

    What’s going on, you’re an inner west celeb and still no comments today!

    I must say, they’ve done something weird with the wide angle lens, makes you look slightly skewiff…

    • jampolk says:

      Yes. Very light on with comments today.
      I suspect it was my very late start, or people are running out of interest…

  2. pb says:

    Soon Jane the Paparazzi will be sniffing at your door before you can get out of your denim pyamas.

  3. t.x says:

    they’re turn-ups for the book!

  4. richard g says:

    just love the early morn sun glinting through the amber glassware…not to take the focus away from the denim but I love the whole look of these snaps! x

    • jampolk says:

      The photos are extremely carefully composed by me first thing each day… not.
      I try to choose a different place/ angle/ position each day then away i go.

Leave a Reply

