Day 50: Thursday 18 June

DAY 50!! DAY 50!! DAY 50!!

Can you believe it? Fifty days straight of denim. What an incredible achievement. It’s up there with the cure for cancer, putting an end to poverty and stopping global warming.

Almost.
Not really.
No, not at all.

But a small personal milestone nonetheless.

In another milestone for the Year of Denim today’s outfit is my attempt to match a cartoon drawn of me by my sweet natured work chum Eylsey. Here’s his lovely drawing of moi…

Me in the style of Scooby Doo

Me in the style of Scooby Doo

And here’s my attempt to match  the cartoon…

Me in real life

Me in real life, 'Scooby' exits stage left

Top: Theres’ a genuine gap in my denim collection. It’s denim patchwork. The best I can do today is this polyester FAKE patchwork denim top. Cute as, but unreal

Bottom: I had a severely patched pair of jeans that finally and completely disintegrated last year, so another gaping hole in my denim stash is no patched knee jeans. My lovely Landlubber high waisted flares will have to stand in, and I’m relieved they don’t need patching, coz they are perfect as is

Accessory: Newcastle’s finest… dark denim shoulder bag with awesome red piping

10 Responses to Day 50: Thursday 18 June

  1. raquel says:

    Happy 50th.. I can’t believe you have given me 50 days of joy!

    Great outfit! was looking foward to you wearing that patched top.

    I saw “Soul Power” at the Sydney Film Festival. Its a film of the 1974 tour of Afro American artists to Zaire to play a concert alongside the “Rumble in the Jungle”. There was Fabulous denim! 70’s patched jackets, be-dazzled and studded denim. It was truely wonderful, and the music was tops too. Will watching it I made a vow to find an stunning patched piece for YOD.

    xx

    • jampolk says:

      I should give you a finder’s fee, or a denim budget!
      I would do ANYTHING for George’s outfit from Rumble in the Jungle

  2. Mark says:

    Have you seen the SMH Style wardrobe 101 feature on the denim jacket? Unbelievable: “head-to-toe denim is never a good look”

  3. holdan says:

    woah! happy fiftieth polkers!

  4. petenel says:

    Is it working? Ive been trying for days to submit my 2c worth …

  5. petenel says:

    Hooray it IS. …. so then …

    So are you absolutely huge in the Inner West post media-frenzy? Strangely over here East Of George I cannot get my hands on a single copy of that YOD mag, not anywhere.

    You should definitely live reverse life-drawing style from now on, its v you.

  6. HRH says:

    Ditto. Can get hold of it anywhere. Obviously mag so hot that it has already been zapped up.
    Those turn up jeans nearly made it to your knees.
    And Scooby is meant to be the star… not some cameo… looks like sour grapes…

    • jampolk says:

      yes, she’s sulky as usual because it was HOURS till she got a walk…
      And remember it’s called the INNERWEST courier, not Eastern Suburbs!
      Which means it’s available only in the INNER WEST!!!!

  7. anne says:

    Yes you hoity toity easties. You’ll have to come over this way if you want to see the girl in her glory on the printed page.

    Happy 50th Jammy P. xx

Leave a Reply

