DAY FREEKIN’ 100!!!!: Friday 7 August 2009!!!

Can you believe it? I have just completed 100 days of wearing denim: a top, a bottom and an accessory. Every day since April 30. What a fool. I have 256 days to go! Arrgghhhh.
Here are your kind suggestions as to how I should mark, celebrate, commemorate 100 days of denim…

1. Have a Double Denim Party … I cannot be arsed organising a party, buying stuff, cleaning and tidying ( before AND after) the house, buying booze, blowing up balloons etc etc. I might feel different at the 200 day mark.

2. Spend the whole day eating TOOBS … This is something I CAN achieve, especially now I have discovered Marrickville train station vending machine stocks Toobs! You must remember Toobs. They are in a denim styled pack and the have the “BBQ Tang”. The other bonus is the way they completely demolish the lining of your mouth!

3. A denim posse descending on a local- in the Ville … Unfortunately the ‘Ville’s pub’s are uniformly skanky. I choose to spend NO time in them. EVER!! For now.

Late entry…   Have a ritual bonfire burning the worst of the denim so far … The suggestor has also suggested that I burn today’s jacket because it’s “disgusting”

 

Anyway. My 100th day has been anything but easy so far. I got up and planned to do a quick repair on some enticing denim, but then the dog vomited. I clean it up, and get out the sewing machine.

She vomits again. FCUK!!! I curse and clean it up. I start to sew. FCUK!!! The machine keeps locking up. The dog vomits yet AGAIN! Triple FCUK!!

I clean it up, and got back to fiddling with the Janome. But wait… it is completely FCUKED!!

Curses!!  I move to Plan B for my 100th day of denim. Off to the bedroom I go to choose another outfit. Oh no. The dog has vomited in the bedroom. I could weep.

Finally I get to take my photo, but it’s not quite as good as I hoped. It does, however, feature something quite special…

Butt plug + stone wash bat wings = special

Red ceramic butt plug + stone wash bat wings = special

Top: Here it is, the most sumptuous piece of stone washing I have seen since 1984, Network brand denim stone washed, bat winged, over sized shoulders, suit style lapelled jacket, courtesy of my Southern Highlands fashion advisor, SL

Bottom: Not my original choice, Industrie dark ‘n skinny denims

Accessory 1: Brand new, and of course I’ve bought them a size too small, denim gym boots. FCUK!

Accessory 2: FCUK denim bag, a kind and generous donation from an old acquaintance, HMc

Word has it that today is Jeans for Genes day. Strange serendipity. I guess I should make a donation somewhere to validate all my denim wearing. And I still have no plans for tonight on marking this momentous occasion. I await more suggestions. Otherwise I might get into some real trouble, especially in THAT jacket…

19 Responses to DAY FREEKIN’ 100!!!!: Friday 7 August 2009!!!

  1. gannaa says:

    A beautiful mix of hip huggin tight and flighing nun wings! What a star. What about you 2 comin over for a big meal and try on some of my threads! Gianni

  2. raquel says:

    that jacket is TOPS!
    Happy 100 Days !

  3. holdend says:

    you rock polkers – your determination and tenacity are totally tops x

  4. t.x says:

    happy anniversary, I’m wearing triple denim today btw as i mentioned

  5. t.x says:

    hat,pants, shirt

  6. t.x says:

    is that a giant RED BUTT PLUGG right behind you??

  7. petenel says:

    congrats on your Century of Denim. That jacket really takes the cake, its HORRIBLE – no wonder poor taxi’s tummy was upset.

    I did notice it was Jeans For Genes day today, so I wore a denim pant to the office, but not one person gave me any money – how is research into denim genetics progressed by this palaver?

    • jampolk says:

      Once again taking pot shots from the sidelines!
      It’s easy to dress well.
      Much more difficult to make a conscious decision to wear something revolting, and quite literally, as you point out, stomach turning.

  8. phil turnbull says:

    congratulations on making it this far. a milestone or millstone? only you will know. keep up the good work, etc.

    • jampolk says:

      Of course you are correct. A milestone a millstone.
      This commitment is both of those things. But if it brings world peace it’ll be worth it.

  9. raquel says:

    I just noticed that that jacket has belt tabs so you could thread through that lovely circular belt I gave you- or any other hideous number.
    xx

    • jampolk says:

      Your belt is too wide for those belt loops.
      And I think that this jacket would look best with a nice white belt, or gold or even silver.
      Whaddya think?

  10. anne says:

    It also has loops for epaulettes as well…some nice sargent stripes or classy gold braid.

    • jampolk says:

      It’s a very versatile jacket, that can achieve many different looks through the addition of accessories. Unfortunately all of those looks will be tragic

  11. raquel says:

    yes white belt would be good- silver better! hmmm

Leave a Reply

