Day 117: Monday 24 August 2009

Well here I am, on holidays. And hasn’t it been full of action and adventure so far?

It’s summer here for sure on the Sunshine Coast. When I got off the plane yesterday my gym boots started filling with sweat, my black t-shirt was definitely a mistake. It was like wearing a solar panel. So I changed. And because I don’t have a surplus of outfits, I am recycling yesterday afternoon’s outfit. But it’ll be new to you.

Anyway. What a morning so far. I got up, had some brekkie, and was helping my aunt do a spot of gardening when next thing you know the neighbor’s dogs have savaged her dog. Blood everywhere. I mean EVERYWHERE. They rush off to the vet. I go into cleaning up-a-murder-scene mode. And I’ll admit it now, I wasn’t wearing a complete denim outfit, just some chambre shorts and my denim visor. The rest you don’t need to know about, it wasn’t my best look I’ll admit, but good enough for mopping up blood.

Here I am, off to the beach for a cleansing swim…

Let's play spot the new denim

Let's play spot the new denim

Top: Dragstar denim vest, possibly the only way I am going to make it through summer

Bottom: Brand new second hand Jeans West skirt, bought straight off the plane at Bli Bli markets. It’s a shame it’s too big and the pocket zippers are busted

Accessory 1: Look closely at the shoes. I had my denim Birkenstocks ‘recycled’ so now they are like new

Accessory 2: Maki denim bag, you’ll see it a lot this week

Accessory 3: Denim sun visor. I have a new denim sun hat I am holding in reserve. Way more stylish than the controversial bucket hat from other blogs

Afternoon update:

You will all be happy to know that Kenny the attacked dog is on the mend after an hour in surgery, bite’;s all over him, including a huge tear on his front leg that ripped a vein. Hence the bloody aftermath

Anyways, here’s a pic from down the beach…

Surfside denim still life

Surfside denim still life ... with hints of immolation

8 Responses to Day 117: Monday 24 August 2009

  1. holdan says:

    good work polkers – gotta get started on those summer outfits

    • jampolk says:

      Experiencing 30 degree heat here.
      It’s making me really quite worried about endless summer and just HOW to wear denim in the heat

  2. raquel says:

    I kinda like this look- denim surfer girl
    love the berkies amazing!
    skirt is not too bad in that acid denim wash way.

  3. phil turnbull says:

    last pic + caption: great

  4. raquel says:

    I was thinking about this lat night but the combo of that vest and the denim berkies makes this out fit a German surfer girl look. Which is kinda wrong as they only have those windswept nightmare currents off hamburg- definately not surfing or paddling beaches at all.

Leave a Reply

