Day 174: Tuesday 20 October

Another day of denim dawns.

Only today is special as it’s the first time I have worn my denim Hannah Montana Multi sport glamour helmet. Yep. I decided to ride my bike to work after a lengthy hiatus which I blame on the Year of Denim.

Denim and bike riding are not a natural mix. For starters a girl gets hot on a bike and denim isn’t known for being a fabric that breaths. Riding in a denim jacket, well that’s just plain stinky.

Then there’s the problem of getting your jeans caught in the chain,  an issue for a frequent flare and bell bottom wearer like myself.  I have avoided this issue today by wearing denim pedal pushers!

Down up pedal, down up down, gotta get across to the otherside of town

Down up pedal, down up down, gotta get across to the otherside of town before the sun goes down

Top: The Letter brand denim shirt jacket. I guarantee I won’t be riding in it, but I promise I’ll wear it in the frosty environs of the office

Bottom: Equinox (cheap n nasty brand) pin stripe pedal pushers perfect for a day biking

Accessory 1: Those dangerous backless denim sneakers. Hopefully the downward pressure from pedal pushing will stop them flying off

Accessory 2: Denim shoulder bag, often seen on the blog

Accessory 3, yes THREE: My denim helmet. See it up close on my head, although the very useful side pocket is not really visible

Hey lady, nice helmet

'Hey lady, nice helmet' is not something you hear very often

14 Responses to Day 174: Tuesday 20 October

  1. holdan says:

    ‘hey lady, nice helmet’

  2. raquel says:

    cool- hope those pedal pushers have give in the upper thigh- thats where I find my denims don’t give on a bike

    • Year of Denim says:

      They are a bit of a lose fit so no worries in that department with these particular denims.
      Plus they have a bit of elastene, very helpful!

  3. raquel says:

    Just checked out the automatically generated post link-
    Hello World! here is my underwear
    great title!

  4. Offman says:

    sexy sexy sexy thats what I say!

  5. petenel says:

    Its hard to pull off a helmet and hi-fashion combo, but lady you got it.

  6. HRH says:

    death wish with those shoes…

  7. HRH says:

    I can stand at top of stairs for minutes thinking about the many ways I am going to tumble down… and that is without wearing those death wishers… falling upstairs is easy… downstairs… you don’t stop…

  8. […] Day 210: Wednesday 25 November I’m up and that’s a good thing. The sun is peeking out and I think I will ride my bike and wear my denim helmet today. Of course I have forgotten to take a photo of me in the helmet. If you have can’t remember how good it looks check this out […]

Leave a Reply

