Day 177: Friday 23 October

I tried valiantly to blog earlier today, but it was broken.

Now it’s fixed and I’ve been through three outfits already.

Why three? Let me tell you…

When I got up this morning I intended to go to work after a doctor’s appointment. However, it was clearly evident after being up, dressed, breakfasted and having taken my YOD picture that there was no way I could go to work.  I can barely talk. It was the return of the Super Husky Year of Denim.

Watch out Lois Armstrong, Kim Carne and more recently Mickey Rourke, coz now I’m in a semi-permanent state of huskiness.

So here’s my number one, ‘I’m going to work’ outfit…

Eyes hidden because the bags under them are bigger than the one on my shoulder

Eyes hidden behind sunnies as the bags under them are bigger than the bag on my shoulder

Top: Blockout stretch denim jacket. And that face is because I’m sucking on a medicinal butter menthol

Bottom: Super dooper high waisted flares from the house of Dragstar, who are having a garage sale tomorrow. Cheap awesome stuff for sale from Dragstar and their kiddie line, plus bonus vintage extras

Accessory: Dragstar pale denim bag denim

It was now around 9am, and I must say the weather was really hotting up. It was way too hot to be wearing a ployester body-shirt under a semi-synthetic denim jacket. As I was no longer going to work I decided to shrug off the above highly corporate look for my visit to the doctor.

So I changed into this…

Double Dragstar denim... Just do it!

Double Dragstar denim... Just do it!

Top: Too tight to button, button-up Dragstar vest, twinned with…

Bottom: Dragstar high-waisted extraordinarily gorgeous flares

Accessory: Denim birkenstocks. Gotta keep those feet healthy, especially as the rest of me is packing it in

Now it’s midday, and it is hot hot hot. So I’ve changed, for the third time into this outfit…

My position for next couple of days, doctor's orders

My position for next couple of days, doctor's orders

Top: That Dragstar vest, while truly amazing, is also so tight it chafes me under the arms. So I’ve dressed down onto the Supre version.  Less hot, definitely not as cool

Bottom: Jeans West denim skirt. And before anyone asks, no I am not doing Britney or Paris. I AM wearing undies, they just happen to be pink

Accessory: Still got healthy denim Birkenstock clad feet

Hopefully this is it for the time being. If a southerly change comes through the city I suppose I’ll be changing AGAIN!!!

17 Responses to Day 177: Friday 23 October

  1. Year of Denim says:

    Three outfits, one blog, and it’s not even 12.30 yet.
    If anyone’s reading this, I’m going back to my book with a cup of tea.

  2. holdend says:

    so you aren’t coming into work sickness

  3. Offman says:

    Wow, 3 whole outfits, watch out for chafing from pulling clothes on and off.
    I am sorry you are sick, but my opinion is the more people who sound like Tom Waits the better.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Of course you are right.
      Bo you think it hurts Tom Waits to talk and sing so growly?
      After seeing Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler growling his way through some 80’s hairband, he is my new favourite husky person.

  4. phil turnbull says:

    taxi’s tocks action is unbelievable

  5. holdan says:

    I love mickey rourke! I love that movie!

  6. petenel says:

    Hey lady I’ve never seen so many Australian Fashion moments in one day on one person ever in my life, especially on a person so riddled with illnesses.

    Just a thought … perhaps you should cross your ankles when you’re on the internets engrossed in Stig, pink undies or not. There’s all sorts of CREEPs out here you know.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Now that I’ve had time to reflect, I actually think the moment captured is a bit like that moment in the movie basic Instinct where Sharon Stone does a bit of leg crossing and uncrossing. You know, sexy.

  7. phil turnbull says:

    what is this stig business – i definitely need some more powerfull glasses

    • petenel says:

      Allright i should have said ‘Stieg’ but cmon phil surely you of all people with your walls of crime paperbacks should know a Larsson when you see it. I think this one is The Girl With The Year Of Denim Tattoo?

      • Year of Denim says:

        And phew, what a rollicking easy read it was.
        And yes, the book was all about an edgy young girl, like myself, with a denim tattoo, like myself, who is incredible with computers and numbers, like myself, and she’s also a bit of a chameleon, like myself, and quite violent, like myself.
        So I could really relate to this book.
        Now I need something else equally engaging yet easy, you know, a page turner.
        Bring on number three in the series!

      • phil turnbull says:

        nope – sorry – i gave up on crime fiction and only ever buy one or two authors now.

  8. Cordelia says:

    Oh thank god for some amusing lightheartedness at 1.15 am!! You have made my insomnis night 🙂

Leave a Reply

