Day 181: Tuesday 27 October

I have denim plans today. More so then usual. Proactive creative denim plans.

I’m going over to Mum’s to make a denim jacket, maybe even a suit.

Mum can sew. I can’t. Mum understands a sewing pattern. I can’t. Mum’s got patience. I don’t. Mum’s got loads of patterns. I have three.

Year of Denim gets creative

Grey days are good days for sewing... I imagine

Top: I didn’t think I’d get another chance to wear this lovely donated South Seas Bubble C0. denim bomber jacket

Bottom: They are new (to me), they are black, they are Gap jeans. Too long of course

Accessory: Denim no name shoulder bag/ carry-all

15 Responses to Day 181: Tuesday 27 October

  1. raquel says:

    Black denim- a rarity! I have found some white denim for you…

    • Year of Denim says:

      Yeay!!!
      White denim
      I have been hunting high and low for it.
      The only white denim I ahve seen has been too tight or too ghastly

  2. HRH says:

    I can’t believe you typed that. You have a very cute white denim skirt that wouldn’t look amiss on a tennis court… or elsewhere…
    Plus u have a 3 piece already that u don’t won’t to deal with…

  3. petenel says:

    I think that people who can sew are to be admired and treasured. What a wondrous gift from St Lynsey De Paul to be able to look at a pattern and then turn it into a frock, or slacks, or BOTH.
    Hey lady! I had some white denim jeans within living memory and it was a tricky relationship that usually ended in stains. Cant imagine what I was thinking, probably under the influence of Andrew Ridgely.

    • Year of Denim says:

      The advanced ability of white denim to get stained is a real issue for a super grub like me.
      Although in the grubbiness stakes I suspect you might be even grubbier.
      Didn’t actually DO any sewing today (so don’t treasure me yet). Just PLANNED to start simple with a nice denim vest.

  4. HRH says:

    all talk no action…
    I saw that skirt on u and it looked good. that is if it is the one I saw u try on in Noocastle and then say u already had one that was much frumpier…
    3 piece ready…
    not sure when delivery day will be but you can thank a fellow artist for putting it together… plus another for stealth… and another two for the vision… and in case it needs alterations… back to the first one… not sure if she would prefer to remain anon…

    • Year of Denim says:

      So scared right now.
      It’s a shame I can’t get this “thing” before Friday, cos then, if it’s not obscene, I could wear it to mark the half way point.

  5. HRH says:

    you could… but would you…?

  6. HRH says:

    It would be pretty good…

  7. stoogi0 says:

    Not liking this ensemble, doesn’t do anything for you at all. And black & blue denim just isn’t done – at least on my side of the world 😉 You’re a nice looking gal! Get that white denim skirt on with a nice fitted denim jacket plus a pair of old skool trainers (I would’ve said heels but don’t think that’s your thang is it?!) & you’ll look killer.
    No, I don’t *want* you 😉 Just a random opinion from a random person you don’t know, from the other side of the world – make the most of yourself 🙂 I think you should get yourself in a tight denim dress & heels before this year is out!
    I have a white mini & it rocks – soon to be worn on my holiday, with a couple of layers of fake tan underneath obviously.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Wow.
      You are quite passionate about denim aren’t you??
      Well stay tuned for tomorrow’s evening attire to mark the half way point.
      I promise skirts and heels, and who knows maybe even white denim.
      I think the thing with double denim is that one has to embrace ALL it’s permutations: good, bad, ugly and yes even black n blue!

Leave a Reply

