Day 185: Saturday 31 October

A very late blog update today. This is because I didn’t get out of my pyjamas until 3pm.

That karaoke sure can take it out of you. As you have no doubt noticed I am also a little hoarse today courtesy of karaoke.

For the record I think one of my favourite OMG moments last night was Trix’s rendition of Abba’s “Does your mother know” with a very punky chorus added by moi and my bro. Another overwhelmingly emotional highlight was a spine tingling duet of ‘Summer Lovin’ from MrPN and MsJS, and then there was the all hands on deck sing-along version of Fleetwood Mac’s ‘Don’t Stop’.

Off to work soon, although you wouldn’t know it from my down played denim do.

185_October_31b

Looking a little black under the eyes, t-shirt to match

Top: Going for a classic double denim look today with the casual over-the-shoulder Levi’s jacket

Bottom: The jacket combines seamlessly with vintage Levi’s flares, not visible from this extreme angle

Accessory: Hand crafted denim bag, gifted a few years ago from the White-Ramsay fashion label of LA

Now on to a little whinge.

As I was catching the train into the city last night I happened to pick up Friday’s MX. Reading reading reading and I came across this little slice of vox pop…

185_October_31a

Everyone's entitled to their opinions, except when it comes to dissing denim

Well! Mr Steffan (with a double F!!! WTF!!). If you’d seen how incredible I looked last night in my “leggings that look like jeans with the fake stitching” I am certain you would have an about face in your misconceived anti-denim prejudice. Don’t knock fake denim leggings ’till you’ve tried ’em. That’s all I’ll say Mr Double eFFan.

8 Responses to Day 185: Saturday 31 October

  1. holdan says:

    3pm? you lucky biatch! jealous! but, I’m not going to work now, in fact, sitting in backyard with beer. noice.

    • Year of Denim says:

      The only reason I was still in my jim-jams at 3pm was because I was feeling under the weather.
      It wasn’t that lovely lie in bed aaaaahhh feling.
      More the slightly hungover, can’t sleep in bluuuuuhhh feeling

  2. raquel says:

    Yes me FF has no idea- legging are VERY helpful with those short skirts. Other wise he would have to whinge about women wearing inappropriate knickers with mirco minis.

  3. petenel says:

    weller weller weller uh tell me more. Thankx I had a mini-hangover this morning, although unlike some layabouts I had to be up at 8 for the blinds man.

    At the risk of being accused of banging ones own tambourine I do think me and MsS’s powerful re-imagining of “The Morning After” was an emotional hi-water mark. Talk about upside down in the Atlantic, bloody hell.

  4. t.x says:

    solitaire was the nadir for me, without any melodic hints from the machine, it was just a big blank! I sensibly didnt get drunk, though that may have hindered me artistically.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Karaoke is impossible without booze.
      You need the confidence and lack of self awareness that a few drinks can bring.
      Because singing is untenable if you are nervous.
      In my case singing i ALWAYS untenable, but what the hell.
      I just commit to it, who cares if eardrums burst???

Leave a Reply

