Day 216: Tuesday 1 December

SO the silly season has officially started.

I have to decide whether to get out the crocheted nativity scene, the glowing kangaroo and the metres of rope light.

Or whether I should ignore Christmas altogether. Hmmm.

Do I have the Christmas maggot or am I feeling Joy to the World?

As I can’t decide I reckon the Christmas maggot is definitely on the rise. Can it be pushed aside by a miserable, vernacular light display?

Stay tuned to find out…

 

A fresh pile of denim, a pussy, a girl and a bum

 

 

Top: Part 1 of the JeansWest twin set, ’70s revival’ jacket, now covered in cat hair

Bottom: Part 2 of the JeansWest twin set. I took the scissors t them this morning, they were too damn long

Accessory 1: Frequently worn on schleppy days denim cap

Accessory 2: Denim gym boots

That pile of denim is on loan from the fashion House of Flaps. I don’t want to lose it all amongst my own stash, so it’s piling up in the corner. And that’s a rather rude way to treat not only someone elses’s clothes, but a dreadful way to treat the wonder fabric of denim.

7 Responses to Day 216: Tuesday 1 December

  1. HRH says:

    Lucky it is a hard yakka fabric…

  2. petenel says:

    Silver Pussy, aussiebum map thing, denim piles – lady thats some Joyeux tableau right there already.
    Some flashing lights would complete the picture but hey Im not exactly Mr Xmas Cheer so who am I to tell you what to do? But having said that I want a denim Nativity so just get on with it for heavenssakes.

    • Year of Denim says:

      When you say denim Nativity what exactly did you have in mind?

      • petenel says:

        Oh I dont know, I’m very Big Picture.

        Thats what we pay you the big blog bux for: all things xmassy and denim-related.

        Couldnt that “virgin” lady have a nice chambray head scarf thing that she seems so fond of? And rope lights please … and a kangaroo.

      • Year of Denim says:

        I’ll see what I can do.
        Perhaps the crocheted 3 wise men could be wearing mini levi’s.
        And Jesus’s baby blanket could be a little piece of denim, and the angel coul;d have denim halo.
        I am also thinking of ‘elevating’ the xmas kangaroo.
        An airborne kanga would be awesome.

  3. HRH says:

    Drag the rope lights out and the glowing kangaroo for crying out loud…
    It’s fun.
    And someone needs to throw down the gauntlet first in da hood..
    Not that you’re competitive…
    That wouldn’t be in the spirit of things but yes… you have your work cut out for you re the denim twist…
    Has Taxi a denim outfit yet?
    Has furball?
    You have been amiss… and not very inclusive…
    Tis the season of caring and sharing…

Leave a Reply

