Day242: Sunday 27 December

I’ve been to Brisbane and now I’m back.

I met my girl posse, saw some art, most of it pretty dreary, moped around Brisbane trying to find the action, ate some dreadful food, drank two of the most awful coffees ever, had a few drinks and snacks down by the river, met a couple of special ladies, and… well that just about covers my Brisbane experience.

IS there anything more unforgivable than dreary art? Artistically blogging I think not. The big art show I visited in Brisbane was the Asia Pacific Triennale. It was very clean, and that’s unforgivable too. Dirt, mess, filth, anything but clean and tidy. It all looked like art, which meant it was boring.

The piece I liked the best was a video work in 2 parts by the Chinese artist Qiu Anxiong, an animation made from his black and white paintings and drawings about, well, everything.

In the Queensland Art Gallery there was an amazing show about bark cloth in the Pacific, including about 6 incredible white mask/ sculptures with black and red designs. Blew my mind, I went back to have a look three times, which I DIDN’T for the ATP.

Anyway…

Here’s what I wore in and leaving Brisbane today…

The ferris wheel goes round and round all the day long

Top: Super snug fit denim shirt, label? Can’t be bothered taking it off to check

Bottom: Rusty chambre shorts, one wear and they’re filthy. Again

Accessory: Dark denim cap

Thanks to HRH for her soft photography skills today…

My new best giant statue lady friend whsipers sweet nothings in my ear while wearing my denim cap

Silver lady, what's your name?

10 Responses to Day242: Sunday 27 December

  1. HRH says:

    You neglected to mention taking in the Streets Beach! Only beach I know that reeks of chlorine…

  2. Offman says:

    Great shots, very romantic.

  3. Offman says:

    I like the new heading as well, tres crochet.

  4. Mayhem says:

    I really like those rusty shorts. the knee flaps especially. You’re right. there are few things worse than dreary art.

  5. HRH says:

    YoD getting profound… I’ll have to ponder that…

  6. tim h says:

    thanks for the CHUCKLE!!!!!! xx

Leave a Reply

