Day 259: Wednesday 12 January

For those about to rock (Mr PeteNel) we salute you.

January is a rockin’ month for sure. The first month of a kick arse rock’n’roll year which so far has hosted the very rockin’ Reverend Al Green blew Sydney’s minds (not that I saw him, I’m just using my imagination), and the legendary post punk Sydney rockin’ music scene is getting it’s very own legends tour on Sunday at the Sando (Sandringham for proper Engrish speakers).

One of Sydney’s legendary legends of post punk guitar, and a good friend of mine, Mr PeteNel will be on stage headlining with the legendary post -punk band Wild West. If you like legends and want to see what they look like then get to the Sando in Newtown on Sunday from the family friendly time of 5pm. I’ll be there, and somehow I don’t think I’ll be the only one rockin’ the double-denim post-punk look.

And there’s a conference too. With pictures! Check it out if you dare. It’s a really important event. How do I know? It’s part of the Festival of Sydney… Oh and that other legend that is NOT Mr PeteNel is in town for it, John Cale.

Off to work in a moment, so I’d better dash. Here’s my ‘going back to work and loving it’ outfit…

God help me, I'm heading into the office

Top: VG denim shirt, with press studs! Geez makes my arms look Hulk like

Bottom: I struggled this morning to find jeans that would look okay with the shirt AND more importantly, hide my muffin when I’m sitting at my desk

Accessory: The absolute latest, newest, freshest denim bag I own. Brought all the way back from Tokyo by the most excellent and stylish Fatty Boombsticks NOT in Tokyo. It’s denim AND bamboo with beautiful silk flowery inserts on the inside. Shoulda photographed it. Didn’t

12 Responses to Day 259: Wednesday 12 January

  1. petenel says:

    hey lady I cant type lots coz my fingers are my instrument and my postpunk commitments prevent me from jeopardising their pristine integrity, but thanks for the awesome plug on your websites internets.

    This is kind of social media viral marketing right? how unpostpunk..

    While denim wasnt big in My Day (in fact it was v postpunk to be anti-denim) I nonetheless understand fashions change and you young people need to make their own mistakes.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Yes, I WAS aware that post-punkers are a bunch of uppity denim haters.
      And that’s why the show is at say the Sando and not say, the Enmore.
      Because post-punk is up itself. Massively.
      All post-punkers think they are legends when in fact they are merely mythical.

  2. holdan says:

    woah. cut down.

  3. Year of Denim says:

    Was I mean?

  4. Goffers says:

    Nice bag.

  5. Goffers says:

    Well thats just too bad.

Leave a Reply

