Day 297: Saturday 20 February

Wow. Sydney’s Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras is well and truly upon me.

I may have ALMOST reached drag queen saturation levels. Yep, I am getting dangerously close to over dosing on bad lip syncing, terrible dancing and excellent costumes.

So last night I attended a show by the most talented man ever to wear unnatural fibres… Mr Bob Downe’s Retro Gras.

Some alleged drag legends of Oxford Street made special appearances, the infamous Cindy Pastel and Miss 3D… here’s Miss 3D doing Gaga (or should that be gag-gag??)…

Miss D squats and drags at The Oxford

Miss 3D squats and drags at The Oxford

There was also some actual singing as opposed to actual miming, with a rare performance by a Sydney drag scenester Prada who did a lovely version of The Look of Love (I think, my mind has blurred).

And the fantastic Paul Capsis sang a few tunes too. Such an amazing performer, so heartfelt and sincere, even when he is making a mockery of Diana Ross. I love him! Sorry for the horrible Nokia phone photo…

Mr Paul Capsis in full and deep throat

And of course, the man, the legend, the plastic hair-do of Mr Bob Downe. He’s sassy AND he can sing. Boy can he sing! He should sing all the time. I’m just glad he’s not coming to karaoke with me tonight cos I’m bad enough without singing next to a golden throat!

Bob Downe's wig getting thrown around whilst remaining on his head!

So a good night, although I really do think the music was better at Vanessa Wagner’s Unisex night.

Here I am today…

Fruit and yoghurt for breakfast to counteract last night's steak sandwich

Top: Supre vest, the small one

Bottom: White denim skirt from Jay Jays, tightie whitie

Accessory: Denim birkies

Off to karaoke evening outfit update (gotta rush)

I prop up the bar in preparation for propping up the karaoke bar

Top: Short sleeved press studded denim shirt

Bottom: Gap skinny jeans

Accessory 1: Denim gym boots

Accessory 2: Denim bag with red piping to match red accessories

4 Responses to Day 297: Saturday 20 February

  1. Goffers says:

    I hope you do a rendition of ac/dc’s “she’s got balls”…

  2. holdan says:

    running late today polkinghorne

Leave a Reply

