Day 307: Tuesday 2 March

I forgot to give my review of 13 Most Beautiful Songs for Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests that I went to on Sunday night in the Concert Hall at the Opera House. The exact same space I was nude in yesterday, although I sat in a different chair.

Here’s the trailer for the show…

It was pretty fantastic I must say, for something I knew nothing about. The band, Dean & Britta, created a kind of soundtrack to 13 of Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests, which they chose from the more than 500 Screen Tests Warhol shot between 1964 and 1966.

Warhol got visitors to the Factory to do a screen test, in which the subject would sit in front of the camera for an entire roll of 16mm silent black & white film. And of course it’s an amazing compilation of the who’s who of 1960s counter and uber culture.

So the show was great. The screen tests were really mesmerising, but sometimes the music and musicians were distracting. I found my attention wandering to them rather than the film behind the band. I left the show wanting more. More screen tests, not more music.

I took blurry pictures of the Harbour Bridge as I waited for the train. They are pretty.

To add to a week of cultural experiences tonight I am off to see John Waters talking in the … Concert Hall at the Opera House. That’ll be three times in three days! I will be wearing clothes… I think.

Here’s the morning’s denim do. I’ll be cleaning eventually so I’m wearing my denim do-rag…

Year of Denim: Day 308

Toast, coffee, paper, luxury, pleasure

Top: Benetton denim jacket

Bottom: JeansWest slobby jeans

Accessory: Denim doo-rag/ head scarf

Afternoon update…

I am off to see John Waters now. Yes, the Pope of Trash, director of amazing films like Female Trouble, Polyester, Pink Flamingos, Serial Mum, Pecker, Hairspray

He should be pretty amusing and I ma feeling sycophantic so I am taking along a book in the hope he’ll be doings some signings.

Here’s what I’m wearing…

Year of Denim: Day 308

Seriously posing, don't know why

Top: Cooler weather means denim jackets again. Hurrah! Marcs shiny, tight suit jacket, denim

Bottom: Sportsgirl jeans, tight, too tight?

Accessory: Goffas supplied, Japanese denim pocketbook, as the Americans would call it

8 Responses to Day 307: Tuesday 2 March

  1. Goffers says:

    Well if John has his head screwed on right he’ll make a beeline to you for some advice and inspiration. I think nude is the way to go.

  2. holdan says:

    woah. blue denim makes your blue eyes pop, baby.
    work it, work it.

  3. Goffers says:

    I love the 13 screentestcli[, very inspiring.

  4. Penny Polkinghorne says:

    nude is the way to go perhaps body paint in denim blue saves changing twice a day

Leave a Reply

