Day 308: Wednesday 3 March

Although it’s been an early start the day has begun with quite a bang!

No, not those kids in the street smashing bottles and laughing hysterically (were they on DRUGS?). Something even more exciting than that happened to me this morning.

After months assuming it was stolen, lost, gone, I found as I always suspected, my iPod in the pocket of the jacket I am wearing today!

As I said, a very exciting start to the day.

Last night I went to see John Waters (not the Australian actor, but the American director) give his one man show ‘This Filthy World’. He is quite the raconteur. A very funny man. Funny even though he is STILL using the same material from his book ‘Shock Value’ which came out in 1981!

How do I know? When I was getting ready to go to the Opera House for my first of 3 visits in 3 days on Sunday night I got a bit confused and packed ‘Shock Value’ hoping Mr Waters might sign it. Once  I was on the train I realised it was the wrong event but glanced through the book anyway

Sunday night was nude times. No, that’s wrong. Sunday night was ’13 Most Beautiful’.

But still, a very funny man with a very twisted sensibility. I just wish his last few movies had been a bit better, cos they’ve been rubbish.

Did anyone see ‘Dirty Shame’. So not funny. ‘Cecil B Demented’? Ditto (not Beth). And it’s a shame, because the casts for those films are great.

But I must focus on the positive. After all the man is a genius. Female Trouble (my personal fav I think), Pink Flamingos, Desperate Living, Polyester, Cry Baby, Serial Mom and even Hairspray all have an unlaboured joyfulness at their core.

Here’s THAT scene from Pink Flamingos….

Those later movies are just laboured. I think Waters should try his hand at an Arthouse movie. Something serious, Bergman like, even Fellini-esque, or even more serious just plain boring art films.

Anyways, it’s early, I have to go to work. Here’s a picture of me with my rediscovered iPod…

Year of Denim: Day 309

I feign mock surprise, because I was REALLY suprised

Top: Knockout super tight, but with give, denim jacket

Bottom: Cheap n’ nasty Jay Jays Jeans jeans

Accessory 1: Denim bag with red piping

Accessory 2: Denim gym boots

16 Responses to Day 308: Wednesday 3 March

  1. Goffers says:

    Truly happy for you. Pockets are great things. Sensational outfit, very sassy! That clip was gut wrenching, I have never seen it and was eating weetbix at the time…urgh.

    • Year of Denim says:

      You are a Pink Flamingos VIRGIN!!!!!
      I don’t believe it!!
      You HAVE to see that film.
      I am organising a film night RIGHT NOW!!!!

  2. teepee says:

    hey YoD, that shirt is off the chain!! HOT! What is it?

    • Year of Denim says:

      It’s a photo shirt of 1970s racing cars.
      What does “off the chain” mean?
      After seeing John Waters last night I can’t help but think it’s some kind of dunny reference.
      Am I wrong? Right? Indifferent?

  3. spiegel says:

    If you organise a John Waters film night, i’m there. It’s been years. I loved Shock Value back in 81 and, like you, was a bit shocked that he is basically recycling the same old stories. I had a few belly laughs and lots of chuckles but I didn’t like that his whole spiel sounded so practiced. I know it’s all staged and well-rehearsed, but I reckon a gifted raconteur makes things sound fresh and off the cuff, no matter how many times he’s said stuff. He sounded more like he was doing a “routine”.
    Inside my copy of Shock Value, I still have my scratch and sniff Odorama card from Polyester. Sadly the fart smell (and all the other smells) have long gone…

    • Year of Denim says:

      I’m sure you can easily refresh the ‘fart’ odour.
      And…
      I thought he rushed through the question time too.
      That was a big crowd, over 2000 people (I know this because there were 2500 in there for Spencer Tunick and Waters used ALL the seats).
      I’ll let you know about Pink Flamingos night.

  4. Tim H says:

    the woman beside me found quite a bit of his monologue TASTELESS – esp the stuff about death and abortions

    • Year of Denim says:

      ‘Tasteless’???
      What did she expect?
      Had she NEVER seen his films???
      Tasteless is his REASON

      • Tim H says:

        well yes my thoughts eggzactly – i mean wot was she expecting? a hillsong jamboree? – if anything he could have been WAY filthier

        And as for the “off the chain” – I can never manage to separate that from “let fluffy off the chain” which fits right into the odorama theme going on here!

      • Year of Denim says:

        Yes, Mr Waters has become quite refined.
        But still, I laughed out loud a lot.
        The image of the huge fat gay man with a giant meat ‘apron’ wheeling around a 12 year old disabled girl is a stuck quite in my head.

  5. teepee says:

    YoD, off the chain as explained in ‘Urban Dictionary’

    1) (Adj.) a great deal of fun
    (2) (Adj.) very attractive
    (1) Wow Mike, this party has punch and cake and everything! It’s really OFF THE CHAIN!
    (2) That girl has a nice rack. She is OFF THE CHAIN.

  6. pb says:

    mmmmm meat apron

  7. IF you combine a john waters screening with the end of the YOD party – I’M THERE! I’ll be there! I’ll wear denim from head to toe and bring a denim vulva and a denim turd. We are so much more John Waters than John Waters now, anyway! Love your work! X

  8. […] I have just read a sort of review in the back of today’s Sydney Morning Herald about the John Waters’ ‘This Filthy World’ show at the Opera House on Tuesday night, which I went to. The journalist Matt Buchanan talks about it […]

Leave a Reply

