Day 320: Monday 15 March

Day 1: Week of Skirt, Skort and Dress

Today begins an exciting new venture to the Year of Denim… The Week of Skirts, Skorts and Dresses!

Yes. I vow to wear a skirt, skort or dress every day this week.

Why am I doing this? Because I have been under representing the legless and apparently legless versions of the jean. Plus I have been given a couple of denim potato sacks dresses that I haven’t worn yet here on YoD.

So get ready to see my legs, my rather hairy legs!

And while I am on the topic of legs what about the hoo-hah in regard to the actress Mo’Nique’s hairy legs? Been a hairy legged, non-shaving type of bitch myself I was all ‘You go hairy sister!’.

Sheez the gossip web sites think hair on the legs of a woman is the most repulsive thing they have ever seen. It still amazes me that a few strands of hair out of place anywhere on a woman (remember Julia Roberts and the stink about her unshaven armpits a few years ago) is so outrageous, horrifying and repulsive.

Even I, proud wearer of hairy legs and arm-pits, get a shock when I see another woman unshaven where normally she’s plucked. How frequently do you see women proudly sporting a bit of hair on their upper lip? Rarely and those women are usually old, homeless or messing with gender. No normal woman would be seen with THAT kind of hair.

I’m running out of steam with my hirsute ranting and I’m unsure what point I am trying to make, so here’s today’s denim do…

She's got (hairy) legs and she knows how to use them

Top: Moji denim shirt. I admit I will be in the garden for the next few hours so I’ll be in my work denims. No Moji shirt and no denim skirt then!

Bottom: JeansWest denim skirt

Accessory 1: Denim birkies

Accessory 2: Plaited denim belt concealed by skirt fold, but definitely there

6 Responses to Day 320: Monday 15 March

  1. Goffers says:

    As a hirsute lady myself, I understand what you are saying. The media wants us to be as unlike men as possible, I think, that is why shaving/plucking/waxing is the done thing. I shave certain areas for my own aesthetics, and I don’t shave other areas for the same reason. I think hairy legs are pretty sexy actually, on men and women, and when they are shaved, they look strange. Like meat. But I do shave my chin, because I am not prepared for the bearded look, it causes me consternation and I find it easier to see myself without one.

  2. Goffers says:

    What is wrong with potato sacks? Bad press!

  3. raquel says:

    women with mostaches: are usually old, homeless or messing with gender. No normal woman would be seen with THAT kind of hair.

    really? thanks. I have been homeless, am getting old, and have on occassions messed with gender- but generally I just think of myself as Latina.

    I don’t notice people looking at my hair anymore, I wont let them suck my energy.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Yes that was a bit of a blanket statement, so I apologise if it offends you.
      And good for you resisting the female body hair staring bitches!

Leave a Reply

