Day 365: Wednesday 28 April

The End of the Year of Denim celebrations are being readied right this minute. The big questions is exactly WHICH blue cocktail should be served at the function?

When I think blue cocktail Blue Lagoon is the first, in fact, the ONLY cocktail that springs to mind. So I thought a little research was necessary and I reached for my trusty cocktail book…

Year of Denim presents.... Cocktails for Two

And you know what? There’s more than one blue flavoured and coloured cocktails…

Blue lagoonVarious blue cocktailsBlue HawaiianBlue Margarita

And last but not least, especially as it has an awesome accompanying image….

Blue Star

Although I am quite partial to this particular cocktail, even though it’s not blue it just sounds, I dunno, nice and something I might enjoy…

Cocktail: Bosom Caresser

So which cocktail should I serve to mark the end of the Year of Denim and to stain my guests’ tongues? I’ll be out tonight ‘test driving’ a few myself. Vote in my poll for what YOU want to drink…


In the meantime I today I am rocking the rock’n’roll tracksuit ala the Canadian Tuxedo, a look so ghastly not even irony will help it. I used a fancy handbag to trick it up, but I don’t think it works. And honestly I don’t know whether I can remain in this combo. I’ll walk the dog and decide…

Is that a bum on your head or are you just an arse?

Top: Classic and genuine Levi’s jacket blending almost seamlessly into…

Bottom: Ben Sherman straight leg jeans, sloppy

Accessory: Chanel (fake??) handbag, not helping this look at all

Nup. That outfit is horrible. I’ve changed in more ways than one. As someone I work with always says “You’ve changed, you used to be cool”.

Here’s my new look, much more appropriate for test driving blue cocktails…

Elegant and stylish is my name

Top: Target, uh huh, suit style jacket

Bottom: Dragstar fully amazing new high waisted flares, still so high waisted I can’t actually do up the the top button

Accessory: I’m sticking with the Chanel handbag. It’s a winner

18 Responses to Day 365: Wednesday 28 April

  1. Goffers says:

    You can see that cool blue woman’s boobies!
    Honestly I don’t know what is wrong with the first outfit you picked…am I just a ham?
    But you look great in both.

    • Year of Denim says:

      The jeans are saggy baggy shapeless and the jacket aids in creating a square shape to my image…
      And I though I would be invisible so I changed…
      Although really, when will I EVER be able to wear that combo safely again?

    • Year of Denim says:

      I like her light sabre too

  2. spiegel says:

    i just tried to cheat on the cocktail vote and thought i’d got away with it, then the survey politely said “thank you, we have already counted your vote.” damn it.
    blue tequilas are winning anyway. go blue tequila.

  3. holdend says:

    wtf is blue caracoracoa

  4. holdend says:

    what is blue caracaracoroa anyway

  5. tim h says:

    you’re SO J.B. and I’m not just talkin bout the hair!

  6. HRH says:

    Make you own combo classics…
    The Harpic Flush (I don’t think it is really clean unless it’s blue…)
    Blue Crush (surfs up)
    Blue Tail Fly (we could all sing along)
    Blue Moon (ditto)
    Balmain Blues (Tigers…)
    Blue Corolla… (my Sharona)

    I am only thinking of this as eons ago when I was at a west is best party…
    We had Coolangatta Gold (yellow of course)
    Milperra Massacre (red and tastefully just after the event)
    and the Black Monaro… (coca cola based)

    all was going fine till someone put Harpic Blue into the Black Monaro and we had to call an ambulance for those that had sampled it unawares…

  7. petenel says:

    Every time i see those bangs The Bieber Fever grows in ones pants! Squeal.
    Gosh HRH I’m thirsty for a Black Monaro. Or how about a Mustard Charger?

    • Year of Denim says:

      Wow.
      Your Bieber fever is mutating into beaver fever.
      And I’m with you, a Black Monaro sounds like a real thirst quencher

  8. liz says:

    From a practical point of view, the Blue Jacket sounds easy to mix. This could be important at a function.
    Also, what is that on the floor in photo number one from today? A denim yoga bag?

    • Year of Denim says:

      Uhhh. Yeah. It’s a denim yoga bag.
      And after combing Sydney’s bars, no one, and mean NOBODY will serve a blue cocktail!
      Blue Margaritas all the way…

  9. HRH says:

    They serve a blue cocktail on the Indian Pacific… why… because it links the Indian to the Pacific Ocean…
    A red one is served on The Ghan…
    No doubt you have bought up big on the ultimate denim snack TUBES… though I have recently been made aware that the combination of jeans with a denim skirt is also known as a “denim snack”… mmmm… not too sure about that look…

Leave a Reply

