A new challenge

Well who’d have thought it?

Somebody has issued me with a new sartorial challenge: Wear a suit and tie every day to work for a week. And they’ll pay me $100 if I do it.

So yes, I am prostituting myself for filthy lucre, anyways…

What a fool! This person is well aware of the Year of Denim. Were they thinking I couldn’t possibly wear anything as dull and boring as a suit? Well if that’s what they thought they were wrong….

Week of suit & tie: Day 1

To kick it off I thought I should start the challenge with not quite my most ghastly suit, but it has to be close

red ICU zoot suit

Watch out media tycoons, I'm dressed for success and I'm much better red than dead

Can you believe I bought this incredible slice of fashion for a mere $8??

I KNOW! it’s unbelievable the bargains out there. The label on this suit is also amazing…

ICU red suit label

And it's even made in Sydney! 100% viscose!

14 Responses to A new challenge

  1. fiona says:

    i wondered what was with the tie today – i didnt realise it was part of a whole new thang

  2. Rich Ploeg says:

    Splendid work Jane! I would like to say that just like a good man, no suit can take all the credit for it’s impact. Behind (well under) every good suit is a fine shirt. No exception in your Day 1 ensemble. Truly gorgeous!. And those sandals. . . . . God damn!. 😉

    • Year of Denim says:

      I am more than happy to spread the love.
      You too can wear a suit + sandals.
      It’s the Miami Vice down under look!
      Do it Dick, you know you want to!

  3. Goffers says:

    Well well well, snazzy! You’ve got the money made! Just don’t sweat to death.

  4. birdmonkey says:

    I love how the label says “Sydney Earth”. Do you notice that the Earth is a play on the typography of Arthur Stace’s chalk written Eternity? same ‘E’ ‘r’ an ‘t’.

  5. birdmonkey says:

    Did it belong to a man with very short legs, or is it a capri lengthen suit pant (anything is possible in the 80’s), or did you take up the pants?

    • Year of Denim says:

      I didn’t take up the legs, the suit is ‘off the rack’ (Vinnies that is).
      But it is defintely zootie is style.
      I think on a man the trouser waist would sit a little lower, as the pants have to get over my beer bellie.

  6. fiona says:

    where’s today’s pic?

  7. Sir says:

    I love the Miami Vice downunder look!! Shud I express post Uncle Kev’s Blue Safari suit up to you?

    • Year of Denim says:

      Gawd… I HAD pale blue safari suit but somewhere in the mists of time it has slipped through my fashion fingers and no longer resides in my wardrobe.
      Admittedly I will be scraping the bottom of the barrel suit-wise in a day or so.

Leave a Reply

