Day 6 : Suit and Tie challenge

There’s  one day of the suit and tie challenge left to go.

And the suit recycling is coming thick and fast.  I’ve been looking in the charity fashion boutiques but a suit that fits is not something you come across every day in the op shops.

My suit gathering has taken decades and I only own the ones you have seen, plus the amazing yet incredibly revolting denim suit with lace patterning only seen during the denim strip tease, which raqO kindly and generously donated to the Year of Denim.

Anyway, mentally I am preparing for an exciting road trip to Parkes for the Elvis festival later this week, where I can guarantee I won’t be wearing a suit, although I MIGHT be decked out in sideburns.

Day 6 Suit and tie challenge

True blue top to toe, tie to tit

And for once I have a decent photo of my tie, thanks once again the the professional photographic stylings of Mr Toby Zerna …

It's light blue, dark blue with flecks & a subtle red stripe, PLUS it's washable! Thanks Holly Green tie designers

10 Responses to Day 6 : Suit and Tie challenge

  1. birdmonkey says:

    Holly Green is THE tie designer. All her ties are winners. I have found styles up to the early 80’s including some she did for Pierre Cardin.

  2. gianni wise says:

    there’s always a faceless sweatshop behind all good designers.

    • Year of Denim says:

      I thought so, but as these ties are all pre 21st century, pre 1990s and even pre 1980s I live in hope the sweatshops were Australian. I don’t know why I think that’s better??

  3. Goffers says:

    I appreciate the convenience a suit’s pockets allow, almost too many to choose from. Nice shot.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Yes. Pockets are useful and suits come with a plethora: inside, outside, upper, lower, front and back in the trouser department

  4. gianni wise says:

    whats u size? I’ll keep my eye out when I go scavenging

  5. Nigel W says:

    Just to let you know, Holly Green, was not an actual person but in fact a company. HollyGreen were one of the largest manufactures of ties, belts, socks and other assorted items from the late 1950’s to early 1990’s before being sold. They employed approximately 300 – 450 people at it’s peak across 3 countries, including it’s own in house design team.

    HollyGreen PTY LTD used to manufacture their own designs in house via the design team and they also had the sole license to produce Pierre Cardin ties throughout the Asia/pacific region.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Thank you for your informative comment!
      I wish Holly Green were still designing their awesome fashions.

Leave a Reply

