Elvis: Forever Young

Saturday night

So now after a hard day’s photographing Elvii it’s Saturday night, the big night in Parkes for the Elvis Festival.

And we head off to see Silas Lulic in his tribute to Elvis’ early years, “Elvis Forever Young”.

And what a tribute it was! He took on young Elvis faithfully, with no cheese ala Dean Vegas. His performance was incredibly sincere and but not too hung up on doing Elvis vocalisations, which after 3 days starts to drive you insane! Although one table cracked up hysterically every time Silas said “Thank you. Thank you very much.”

Now if you have been looking at this blog over it’s Elvis period you would have seen Silas in black leather, pancake make-up and sweat during the street parade.Well this is what he kicked off the show in…

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Pakes NSW 2011

Silas gets into the Elvis thing, and almost looks like him here

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Suddenly Silas rips off his coat and he is all Jailhouse Rock-like

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Before you know it there's another costume change! Cute as Kid Creole!

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

My oh my. Our table went crazy for his G.I Blues look. The girls (and some boys) were sighing & melting

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

But my eyes were wandering. Thankfully he had a few showgirls on-stage to keep me occupied

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

GIRLS! GIRLS! GIRLS! Showgirls!

Silas Lulic in Elvis Forever Young at the Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

ANOTHER costume change & Slias is hurtling through Viva Las Vegas. Turnin' day into night time. Turnin' night into daytimeIf you see it once. You'll never be the same again...

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Silas goes and meets the people. The people like

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Another costume change and it's Elvis's 1968 black leather comeback outfit. HOT! SWEATY! MORE MELTING!

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Thankfully he unplugged his guitar as Silas is the best looking bad guitar player I have ever experienced

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Silas looks good in black leather with blue lighting

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Silas also looks rather fetching in black leather with red lighting

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Black Silas got down with the crowd again. This particular girl was crying, YES! SOBBING! At Dean Vegas. She seems overwhelmed with anther emotion here. Stalkerness perhaps?

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Silas kissed this woman several times(or she kissed him). Is it his mum?

Silas at Elvis Festival Parkes NSW 2011

Then I ran into some buddies at the bar. The girl I met on our first night in town. The Red Elvis called me shapeshifter

A shapeshifter I hear you ask? As he put it “I’m standing here talking to you and you’re 100% woman. Then I see you over there and it’s a man!”. What the hell does he mean?

JamElvis in the toilet mirror at Silas Show

Self reflexive moment during a toilet break during the Silas Show

From here the night got even funnier. But that’s another blog…

11 Responses to Elvis: Forever Young

  1. P.NElvis says:

    Nice blogging … just like being there. Oh hang on, I was there …

  2. raquel says:

    another blog- or another blog post? you gonna hold out on us jamelvis?

    • Year of Denim says:

      Why start another blog when I have this one with people like you regularly looking and commenting?
      So I guess, yes, I mean another post.
      Although I suspect there’s some Elvis fatigue happening out there, so another Elvis related post might scare people away forever.
      But I DO have some excellent video I NEED to put up

  3. […] final night in town included the Elvis Forever Young Show performed so well by Silas. It also contained the series of events that led to me kissing Elvis […]

  4. Shae says:

    Jane!

    Here I am googling Elvis to avoid writing an essay and what do I find? Your blog! Finally!

    I’m rolling on the floor laughing. I love the photo of Cam and I (above). Aren’t we matching well in our red?! The photos of you pashing the man (who shall remain un-named) at the Royal are hilarious. I think I took them for you?

    Great blog, great pics, great effort with the denim challenge!

    I hope you’re well.

    Hopefully I’ll see you at Parkes in 2013 (I can’t make it to 2012).

    Love Shae.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Well hello there.
      Welcome to My Year of Denim.
      Nice to hear from you.
      And yes, might see you back in Parkes 2013.
      I LOVED the Elvis Festival.
      YOD

  5. Judy says:

    Hi all.
    I was at Silas’s show to and i have to say its the best Elvis show i have ever been to.

    I have just received word that he is on stage again at The Elvis Tribute Festival in Melbourne 19-21 Aug 2011 the first of its kind.

    I dont have anymore details from the organisers yet, only know that he will be there!

    http://elvisforeverdownunder.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/110/

    See you all there.

    • Year of Denim says:

      Don’t know whether I’ll make it to Melbourne in the middle of winter for Elvis, tempting though it is

Leave a Reply

